fbpx

MAKING COMMUNITIES

SAFER

Bringing agencies and citizens together to build safer communities and promote wellbeing for all.

BECOME

A MEMBER

Support your community and help prevent crime in Alberta!

thin

BECOME A MEMBER OR RENEW MEMBERSHIP

Your membership entitles you to many benefits including crime prevention conferences, speaker series, special reports and more. 

VIEW ACCPA VIDEOS

View the videos of our monthly Facebook Live broadcasts

SPREAD THE WORD

Help raise awareness on crime prevention in Alberta. Follow us, join the conversation and share our links and articles on Facebook.

VOLUNTEER

ACCPA is always looking for community minded volunteers to assist in organizing conferences and fundraising activities. Contact us to learn more.

DONATE

Looking to support a worthwhile community building organization? ACCPA is a not-for-profit organization which relies on the generous support of our donors.

UPCOMING

EVENTS

Fraud Prevention Month

MARCH 2023

Fraud Prevention Month raises awareness about fraud and what community members and individuals can do to fight fraud and assist the victims of fraud. ACCPA will be working with our partners across the province to educate Albertans on recent fraud and scams.

UPCOMING

EVENTS

TRAINING: Addressing Home Takeovers

JUNE 2, 2022, (9 – 10:30 am EST) on Zoom

Join us for a home takeovers training session to learn about these complex situations and to discuss how to address them.

UPCOMING

EVENTS

REACH Edmonton Annual General Meeting

JUNE 9, 2022, 4:00-6:00pm

This year's REACH Annual General Meeting will be delivered in a hybrid model at the MacEwan University Feigel Conference Centre on Thursday June 9th from 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm.
We are privileged to have with us a facilitated panel of speakers to help us explore the topic of Unpacking Hate – Understanding and responding to hate crimes in our community. Joining us will be Stephen Camp from the Alberta Hate Crimes Committee, Henry Kerr from the Don't Click Project, Irfan Chaudhry Director of the Office of Human Rights, Diversity, and Equity, and Shalini Sinha, Chair of the City of Edmonton Anti-racism Advisory Committee.

REGISTER to attend this year's AGM in-person or virtually  as soon as possible to avoid disappointment. **Unlike REACH AGM's in the past, this year we are only accommodating a 120 in-person guest maximum in the venue – please feel free to join us virtually if that works better for you.


UPCOMING

EVENTS

Coalition for Canadian Police Reform Conference

Virtual Conference JUNE 14-16, 2022

The Coalition for Canadian Police Reform is delivering a powerful conference on Police Reform in Canada. assembled an incredible line-up of speakers; including keynotes from Devon Clunis, former inspector general of policing for Ontario and former Chief of Police for Winnipeg, Hon. Wally Oppal, former Attorney General of British Columbia, Senator Vernon White, former Chief of Police for Ottawa, along with police reform leaders and experts from various cities, First Nations communities, universities and colleges, and other public institutions.
The early-bird registration is $149 + GST and includes a one-year C-CPR membership (early bird ends May 18th). There is also special pricing for post-secondary students of only $50 + GST.
Use the Promo Code BLUELINE10 for 10% off your registration. Do so before May 18th to get in on the EARLY BIRD rate.


UPCOMING

EVENTS

Speaker Series on Climate Change and Community Safety: Adapting Communities to Climate Change and the Role of Community Safety

JUNE 16, 2022

10:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM MT / 12:00 PM CT / 1:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM AT

HOW DO WE INTEGRATE CLIMATE ADAPTATION PLANNING WITH COMMUNITY SAFETY PLANNING LOCALLY?

Cities and their inhabitants are highly vulnerable to safety risks associated with climate change due to their high population density along with their large volume of government services and economic and social infrastructure.

Additionally, many smaller, northern, and rural communities will struggle with climate change-related community safety challenges as they disproportionately experience its effects.

Unfortunately, most local adaptation efforts have tended to overlooked the need for approaches to prevent and address community safety challenges related to climate change.

UPCOMING

EVENTS

CMNCP Presents National Knowledge Exchange Workshop

4 hour workshop to be held JUNE 22, 2022

9 am (PDT) / 10 am (MDT) / 11 am (CDT) / 12 pm (EDT) / 1 pm (ADT)

The Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention, in partnership with the Halifax Regional Municipality, is pleased to invite you to its upcoming virtual Knowledge Exchange Workshop on Crime Prevention and Community Safety in the Rural Context.

The workshop is part of a rural crime prevention knowledge exchange project funded by the Halifax Regional Municipality, and aims to include a rural lens in community safety efforts – particularly in regions that include both urban and rural communities.

Please sign up by June 17th, 2022.

UPCOMING

EVENTS

BUILDING SAFER COMMUNITIES TRAINING SERIES

The Canadian Municipal Network on Crime Prevention is pleased to announce that it will be offering its 3-Part Building Safer Communities Training Series in 2022These virtual trainings will provide participants with information, practice implications, and tools/resources related to the development, implementation, governance, and evaluation of crime prevention and community safety & well-being (CSWB) plans. 

Building Safer Communities PART I: Community Safety and Well-Being Planning

  • Date: September 12th, 19th, and 26th, 2022
  • Time: 10 AM (PDT) / 11 AM (MDT) / 12 PM (CDT) / 1 PM (EDT) / 2 PM (ADT)
  • Overview: Introduction and context; assessing community safety challenges; identifying priorities, outcomes, and approaches/programs.  


Building Safer Communities PART II: Crime Prevention Programs, Collaborative Practice, and Decision-Making

  • Date: December 5th, 12th, and 19th, 2022
  • Time: 10 AM (PST) / 11 AM (MST) / 12 PM (CST) / 1 PM (EST) / 2 PM (AST)
  • Overview: Types of crime prevention, fidelity to fit, findings & assessing programs, long-term collaboration, types of roles of practitioners 


Building Safer Communities PART III: Governance and Evaluation in CSWB

  • Date: October 5th and October 12th, 2022
  • Time: 10 AM (PDT) / 11 AM (MDT) / 12 PM (CDT) / 1 PM (EDT) / 2 PM (ADT)
  • Overview: Essential elements for implementation, examples of governance, monitoring, and performance measurement, utilizing findings


thin

OUR MISSION


Bringing agencies and citizens together to build safer communities and promote wellbeing for all.


MEET OUR BOARD

Jean Bota
JEAN BOTA

President, ACCPA

Corrina Williams
CORINNA WILLIAMS

Vice President, ACCPA

Holly Arthur
HOLLY ARTHUR

Secretary, ACCPA

SAM KOMOLAFE

Treasurer, ACCPA


COMMUNITY PARTNERS


2021 ACCPA VIRTUAL CONFERENCE

LOCAL & INTERNATIONAL PERSPECTIVES

IN COMMUNITY SAFETY & WELL-BEING

SIGN UP TODAY

MAY 10-13, 2021

LIMITED SPACE. LOCAL & GLOBAL LEADERS MAKING CHANGE